NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL



COUNCIL

Thursday, 21 May 2009

YOU ARE SUMMONED TO ATTEND A MEETING OF NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL, WHICH WILL BE HELD AT THE GUILDHALL NORTHAMPTON ON THURSDAY 21 MAY 2009, AT ELEVEN O'CLOCK IN THE MORNING WHEN THE FOLLOWING BUSINESS IS PROPOSED TO BE TRANSACTED:-

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR

Councillor Hadland to propose and Councillor Davies to second: "That Councillor Michael John Hill be elected Mayor of the Borough of Northampton for the ensuing year."

After election the Mayor will make the declaration of acceptance of office.

The Mayor's Serjeant will invest the Mayoress (Mrs Margaret Hill) with her chain of office.

The Mayor will thank the Council for his election.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING MAYOR AND MAYORESS

Councillor Garlick to propose and Councillor B. Hoare to second: "That the thanks of the Council be given to Councillor Brian Markham and Councillor Irene Markham for the able and courteous manner in which they have discharged their duties as Mayor and Mayoress during their term of office."

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Councillor Church to propose and Councillor Beardsworth to second: "That Councillor Marianne Taylor be appointed to the office of Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year."

After appointment the Deputy Mayor will make the declaration of acceptance of office.

The Mayor's Serjeant will invest the Deputy Mayor's consort (Mr Martin Taylor) with his badge of office.

4. APOLOGIES

5. LONG SERVICE

To record the long service of the following employees;

25 years: A. Blane, S. Bowers, L. Burdett, R. Clarke,

V. Coomber, B. Hayward, P. Jeffery, F. Lloyd,

T. Matsell, J. Parke, L. Robinson, M. Sugden,

N. Tack, S. Underwood, and S. Wade.

35 years: S. Jackson, K. Schneidereit, A. Skinner,

O. Sowerby, D. Strong, and R. Thompson.

6. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Yates to propose and Councillor Hawkins to second;

"That Councillor Woods be appointed Leader of the Council and Councillor B Hoare be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council."

7. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION GROUP

Councillor Caswell to propose and Councillor Reeve to second;

"That Councillor Palethorpe be appointed Leader of the Opposition and Councillor Larratt be appointed Deputy Leader of the Opposition."

8. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE LABOUR GROUP

Councillor Scott to propose and Councillor I Choudary to second;

"That Councillor Davies be appointed Leader of the Labour Group and Councillor Mason be appointed Deputy Leader of the Labour Group."

9. COUNCIL MEETINGS

The Mayor to propose: "That the Annual Meeting of the Council take place on 20 May 2010 and the other meetings of Council take place on 1 June, 29 June, 13 July, 14 September, 28 September, 26 October, 7 December 2009, 18 January, 25 February, 1 March and 12 April 2010."

10. COMMITTEE PROPORTIONALITY

(copy herewith)

11. CABINET

To record the following appointments to the Cabinet for 2009-10;

Councillor Woods- Improvement and Strategic Partnerships Councillor B. Hoare- Performance Councillor Glynane- Community Engagement and Safety Councillor Mildren- Finance Councillor Beardsworth- Housing Councillor Crake- Environment Councillor Church- Regeneration

12. APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES

(copy herewith)

13. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

(copy herewith)

14. CONSULTATION APPOINTMENTS

To consider the appointment of the following Councillors with whom consultations shall be held by the named Officer under the terms set out and delegated by the Council:

Community Enabling Fund Advisory Panel (Chief Executive) Councillors J. Conroy, Flavell, Glynane, I. Markham, Palethorpe and Scott.

Markets Matters (Director of Environment and Culture) Councillors Church, Flavell, Hadland, Scott, Taylor and Woods.

The Guildhall Northampton 13 May 2009

D. Kennedy Chief Executive